Art Trades

11 Aug

I recently participated in 2 art trades!! and it turned out to be the greatest idea ever! Art as payment for art; sounds fancy, but it’s more like, “Hey! You make art! I make art! We’re both broke! Let’s Trade!” It’s the best way to start a collection!

My first trade was with artist Chris Baird (see his hilarious ramblings and brilliant artwork here)

His request for me was super fun. He wanted a mixed media work depicting Jesus, Charles Darwin, and a monkey playing a game of croquet…

The Croquet Match 12X12

of course Jesus wins! and Chuck… what a poor sport!

From him, I requested a picture of me and my dog, Wheeler.

Red Hot Mess

LOVE! and from what I could tell, he loved his too! Yay!

My 2nd trade was with Chelsey Barnes. (See her work here)

She asked if I would make her a mixed media painting for her cousin  with daffodils, bumble bees, and her favorite Dr. Suess quote:

“Be who you are, and say what you feel, because those mimd don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.”

This is what I came up with.

Bee Yourself 24X24

And I asked her for…

guess!…

You got it! A painting of me and my dog!

Here is Miss Chelsey Barnes rendition of me and my pup, Wheeler!

Mallory and Wheeler 16X20

Totally thrilled with both of my custom pieces and can’t wait for more art trades!

Leave a Reply

