How Project Runway is like art school / Why I love Michael Kors.

13 Aug

I watch Project Runway because (before Work of Art) it was the closest thing to Assignment-Execution-Critique, basically the closest thing to televised art school.  My favorite part is always the critiques, and I pretty much want to be Michael Kors’ BFF. He told one designer on last night’s episode.

“This doesn’t go far enough to look unintentional, and it doesn’t look perfect enough to be intentional.”

OMG! Yes! There were so many occasions on which I could have used this fantastical quote in college critiques. People blaming sloppiness, sheer laziness, and overall lack of technical skill on their “intentions” is one of my biggest pet peeves! Example:

Professor “Did you mean for it to look like that?”

Dumb idiot kid art student, “Yeah… it was… *scratches head*… intentional…”

Me in my head, “No, it wasn’t, you jackass; you just suck!”

If only I had thought to word it as eloquently, yet still extremely hurtfully, as Michael Kors!

I also Love Michael Kors for little gems like these:

“She looks like a transvestite flamenco dancer at a funeral.”

Awesome.

So my prediction for this season is it’s gonna come down to Mondo and Gretchen and either Andy or Valerie. I like Christopher, too.

And I’m totally rockin’ my Betsey Johnson necklace today in honor of her adorable appearance last night. Why is she so freaking cute?

New life goal: look like Betsey Johnson when I’m 68.

4 Responses to “How Project Runway is like art school / Why I love Michael Kors.”

  1. Michelle August 13, 2010 at 11:05 pm #

    I want to run Gretchen over with my car a little bit.

    • thatswhatshesaidart August 16, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

      Yeah, she grates on my nerves too, but she IS good!!

  2. Kristi August 14, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    Ha. I agree with the girl above. I’m not a Gretchen fan, she’s too overly confident I think…. I like Valerie. And I’m really ready for Casanova to leave! He is like Jesus from last year, I don’t know how they make it through it week! Oh and I’ve already gotten compliments on my purse today 🙂 I know you said it wasn’t the right colors but I still love it!

    • thatswhatshesaidart August 16, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

      Valerie is adorable, and I love her stuff! Cassanova is a HOT MESS; he cracks me up!

      Ahh that’s so awesome about the bag; that was so sweet of you! It was great seeing you!

Leave a Reply

