Idyllic World and other Dallas adventures

23 Nov

Hola Amigos! I have returned from Dallas!

I had THE best time.  I finally got to meet Mary and Alberto!

and see the space!


Mallory Jarrell – Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Mary Tomas – Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Bob Ichter- Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Elizabeth Anyaa- Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Cecelia Feld – Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Blanch Evans – Idyllic World – Mary Tomas Studio Gallery


Friday afternoon, after getting acquainted, we wondered down Dragon Street to look in the other galleries.

There were quite a few wonderful exhibits down the street from Mary Tomas.

Yrjo Edelmann – Craighead Green Gallery – Dragon Street – Dallas


And a wonderful photography exhibit of all of my favorite Frida Kahlo portraits!

NICKOLAS MURAY EXHIBIT – Photographs Do Not Bend Gallery – Dragon Street – Dallas


Galerie Zuger had a very interesting Alvar Ramos Exhibit.

Alvar Ramos – Galerie Zuger – Dragon Street – Dallas


After Dragon Street, we ventured over to the Nasher Sculpture Center

and the Dallas Museum of Art


I was so excited; one of the current exhibitions at DMA is Jose Guadalupe Posada: The Birth of Mexican Modernism! So, I got to see all of my favorite dancing skeletons and calaveras up close in person! Unfortunately you were not allowed to take pictures of the exhibit  which was a total bummer because they had an amazing 3-d Sculptural version of the below print hanging from the ceiling!


We had a great night of margaritas and authentic Tex-Mex and a great Saturday afternoon of  shopping at Dolly Python (my new favorite store) and all the antique shops along Riverfront!

Saturday night it was time for the opening of Idyllic world!

I had the great pleasure of meeting one of my collectors, and he was kind enough to bring a photo of my pieces hanging in his house! Don’t they look fab?!

If you’re reading this, THANK YOU, CHRIS!

I also got to meet the buyer of Sangreal which sold the week prior during Design on Dragon.  I got to mingle with the other artists, discussed a few possible future commissions, and ultimately just basked in what a joy it was to be a part of such an amazing show!

Thank you so much to Mary and Alberto for your hospitality!  It is a true honor to show in your space!  I cannot wait for future shows and future trips to Dallas!


 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Idyllic World and other Dallas adventures”

  1. Alberto November 23, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Great tour of events. I t brings me great memories of you and your mom visit Dallas, TX. I’m glad it was a great experience for you, it certainly was for me. It is a pleasure to have part of your grow as an artist in our gallery. Cheers!

  2. Alberto November 23, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Now in better grammar. Great tour of events. It brought me great memories of you and your mom’s visit to Dallas, TX. I’m glad it was a great experience for you, it certainly was for me. It is a pleasure to have part of your growth as an artist in our gallery. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

